Children, the most precious gift from God

One thing I am very passionate about is making sure my daughter is raised knowing and loving the Lord. I want Lily to not be afraid to declare she is a follower of Jesus, I want her to seek God and be so full of Him that she will not waver from that path. Proverbs 22:6 NIV Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it. That quote is on my bathroom mirror to remind me daily that I need to help and pray for Lily on a daily basis. When I was little my mom was careful on the movies and tv shows I watched, what I did; as my husband says I was “sheltered.” Now that I am 27 years old, I am thankful for how my mom raised me, and I intend to do the same with Lily.

Just as an adult we ask ourselves, “what am I feeding myself spiritually, mentally, and physically,” the same is for a child too. What are we feeding our children? I am picky about the cartoon and tv shows that Lily watches, and I prefer her to listen to christian music or music with good lyrics. Those are two ways that I can control what Lily is being exposed to and what is feeding her spirit. Even thought Lily is two, I want her to know the difference between something Godly and something of this world. I want her to know when she should not be watching something without me telling her. I want her to know when something is pleasing to the lord and when something isn’t and that all comes from what we feed ourselves daily.

Another thing I believe children need is praising and a good positive home. I believe that a child should be praised for everything they do right, and when they make a good decision. I know Lily will come up to me and say “Momma look I did it by myself,” and I praise her! Even if she does not do it correctly I still say Wow, you did a great job trying Lily, but can I show you how it really goes? That way she is still excited she tried it, and will try it again. A child needs to have a positive uplifting home, I feel it feeds their spirit so much better!

The last thing is, I try to seize every moment I can to explain to Lily something about God. For example, when reading the story of Noah, at the end it talks about God put a rainbow in the sky and said he will never again flood the earth and I added because God loves everyone. Now when Lily sees a rainbow she says God loves everyone! She recently asked me why I sing so much, so I told her we praise the Lord through our singing and it makes God happy. So, now she will sing even more and will tell you God is happy. I LOVE that she remembers what I tell her. I LOVE that she is so interested in the bible and God and learning, it fills me with so much joy!!! I know that I am raising Lily how God wants me to raise her and see the life in her eyes is the most Wonderful feeling!

Leave a Reply

