My perspective on judging

Yesterday, as I’m sitting in church, taking notes, my Pastor reads Romans 2:1 “You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgement on someone else, for at whatever point you judge the other, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgement do the same thing. NIV” Then we went on to say It’s like if you see greed in someone’s eye there is a lot of greed in your own, or if you see selfishness in someone’s eye there is a lot in your own. To elaborate on that thought, he said “we should not judge the motives of a person’s heart.” Wow, what a powerful message that is.

Every Christian knows that we should not judge other people, is it up to God to judge NOT us. I also have known that how we judge on earth, is how we will be judged in heaven. To take that thought one step further and think that how we judge someone, or we judge the motives of their heart, that whatever we judge in them is in us 10 times more. To think of it that way is really powerful, I think. If you sit and really apply that to your life and really think about it, I believe it could really open our eyes to things we do that we need to ask God to change in us. You do not have to be bound by those gossiping habits, judging habits, sinful ways, nothing! You can have freedom through our Lord Jesus Christ. I truly believe this passage is one that clearly states a part of our life that we need to exclude completely!

As I’ve said before, I’m fairly new to really whole-heartedly trying to live a Godly lifestyle. Since, I’ve really started to change my ways, I try not to gossip or judge, I try to see the best in people and not the faults. I have 7 different note cards on my bathroom mirror with sayings, verses, goals, etc. that I read everyday to help and remind me of the person I am becoming and want to become in Christ. This is one of those passages that I will add to my mirror to help my journey along the way. I want to be so full of God’s love and grace that it just outpour in my walk, talk, attitude everything! I do truly believe that the more we seek God’s face the more of his mercy and grace he will extend to us and the more we will be able to control those judging habits of ours.

This is just my opinion and thought of the passage and I would love to hear any of thoughts or comments!

Joyfully His,

Tiffany

One thought on “My perspective on judging

  1. Tiffany, I agree with what you have written here about judging people. The Lord also calls us to be discerning people, to make sure we don’t “trample under foot the Word of God.” There’s a line drawn there that we need to learn, so we won’t commit that sin. We need to filter every thought and intention of the heart with Phillippians 4:8 and If we do that, we will be pleasing God in all we say and do. Blessings to you.

Leave a comment