Spirit of Liberation

All throughout school I was not a fan of reading at all. There were a few books that I did enjoy reading like, The Great Gatsby, Left Behind for kids series, and the author Henry David Thoreau. But I never had an urge to sit down and read an entire book, to go walk through a bookstore looking for that book that stands out to me, or to try to find a book that might help me spiritually. In fact if you would have asked me if I enjoyed reading I would have quickly said No! I never would have thought that 10+ years later that I Love reading! It is kind of crazy how life changes as you grow older.

Back in February of 2009, my sister-in-law asked if I wanted to read the book, Becoming the woman God wants me to be a 90 day guide to living the Proverbs 31 life by Donna Partow. After I read that book, I was hooked to continue to read good christian books to become a better wife, mother, and daughter of Christ. My husband recently asked me, “Do you ever get tired of reading?” My response to him was, No! Especially when every book I read draws me closer to our Heavenly Father! Well, a few days later I come home with my new book called, Lead me, Holy Spirit… Longing to hear the voice of God by Stormie Omartian. As soon as my husband saw it he just started laughing and said yes at least its a good christian book. I am only on page 32 but I have already broke out my pink highlighter and my pink pen to write notes down in the sides of the book. When I got to page 30, one paragraph really stuck out to me that I would like to share with you guys.

Often the pain in our lives comes from a lack of intimacy with God. And the only way we can experience that intimacy is to be in close communication with Him. You must be able to find a place that is quiet and private every day. Believe me, I know how hard that can be, especially in certain seasons of your life, but try. Go before the Lord and release every worry, care, person, fear, obligation, or concern from your mind into His hands. Name them specifically. As you sit in His presence, focus on His goodness and love, and welcome the comfort of His Holy Spirit in you. let Him set you free of whatever keeps you from the abundant joy He has for you.

So, as I have said before I am learning about the Holy Spirit and how to hear from God. To be quite frank, there is a lot that I am in the process of learning. But when I read that paragraph I was like wow! I have always been a person who prayed to the Lord, even though I’m still not sure if I am praying correctly, but when she said “Name them specifically,” that really caught my attention. I know I have heard that before, but it never really sunk in until earlier today when I read this. I have always been fearful to not pray for myself to much, but to pray for other more than myself. When I wake up in the morning and I have my alone time with God, I spend the majority of the time praying for other people and only a small fraction praying for myself. I never really truly release my cares to the Lord, I never truly release anything to Him. I am so thankful that I was able to read this and go WOW, I am so doing it wrong! I do need to pray for my worries and pray for my cares and name all of it specifically and do take a little more time to pray for me.

I strongly agree with starting your day with the Lord. Waking up just a little bit earlier so you can get some alone time in with Him. It makes your day SOO much more Beautiful and Joyful when you wake up and let the Lord in your heart Before doing anything else! Walking with the Lord is a journey where you are always learning, and I thank the Lord that I have desire to learn and grow as a Christian Woman, mother and wife! I still have a long way to go but with the Holy Spirit as my guide, nobody can stop me!

2 thoughts on “Spirit of Liberation

  1. Here is what my pastor-husband taught me when we got married. I think it would be helpful to you. He said if you use the acronym ACTS and go by it daily, you will go through everyone on your list.
    A- means adoration. Adore God, praise Him for the things you see Him doing in your life, praise Him
    for all He has done for His children and for this magnificient world we live in, etc.
    C- means confession. Well you know what that means, confess your sins.
    T- means thanksgiving. Thank God for the good as well as the bad, because the bad draws you
    closer to Him. He wants us to lean HARD on Him and not on ourselves.
    S- means supplication. Now you can ask the Lord the things you see that you need…but be careful,
    you might get what you ask for, so ask that “His will be done.” (One time when Dewey was travelling back and forth from SC to FL his transmission was going out on his car. He prayed to the Lord, “Please just let me get to Okaloosa County Line”. His car died right at Emerald Lakes (at the county line). I had to go pick him up in the middle of the night.)

    I hope this helps because it sure helped this wretched sinner saved by grace!

    Jane Roberts

Leave a Reply

