Quest to know the Holy Spirit

Long-journey

Long-journey (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In my quest to become a better Christian, wife, mother, and daughter I’ve come to realize that I need the Holy Spirit more than anything. Until recently I did not understand fully the power of the Holy Spirit or really too much about the Holy Spirit period. I went through my late teens and early 20’s as a half-chrisitian. I kinda understood God, I kinda understood the Bible, I kinda understood everything and I thought that was sufficient. I learned a little bit here and there, went to church on Holidays or when I was invited but I had fallen away. I did know I was going to Heaven and I prayed and repented but I now know that is not enough at all. It wasn’t until my daughter was born that I realized I need the Lord and need to seek him more than I was.First, I have to thank the Lord that he sent his son to die on the cross for my and your sins, and when he was resurrected and lifted to heaven we were able to receive Gods Holy Spirit. As long as you acknowledge his son and ask his son to come into your heart and you are saved by his grace, his gift to you is His Holy Spirit to live IN YOU! How amazing! Gods Holy Spirit is how he talks to us, it gives us our strength to face challenges, I could go on but without the Holy Spirit in us, we would be doomed!

I have come to realize I need to focus on God more throughout the day. I need to give him more Glory, pray more, I need to rely on HIM and His strength instead of my own. At church Pastor Jerimy said if you don’t know what to do pray, if you think you know pray, if you are for sure pray, in whatever you do pray! I need to seek Him more in everything I do!! By seeking God more he gives us more of His blessings and grace. If we lean on Him and His Holy Spirit we do not have to worry or have a spirit of fear, because God will fight the battles for you. It is amazing how much more Joyous life is, when you realize that you NEED Him!

In a book I’m reading it said ” for every hour you spend complaining, spend 10 praising and giving Glory to our God.” Then a picture on Facebook I saw said something like “The enemy cannot hear your thoughts but can hear your words, so make sure you say words of power. Joy to our God, empowering, scripture, words that lift up. All positive words so the enemy cannot got a foothold in your life!” How true that is! Our words have so much power to do us good or harm, and the enemy feeds on those moments we let our words spill out without thinking. There is still so much that I am and need to learn, I believe I will be learning until the day that I die and I am fine with that. I will continue to read books and read my bible and grow into a more personal relationship with our Lord and Savior!

Do you need to re-evaluate your relationship with God. There is no time like the present, so what are you waiting for, today is the perfect day to start a fresh and get in a right relationship with Him.

Leave a Reply

