Looking up through obstacles

The Cloud Shadow (Anti-Crepuscular Rays)

The Cloud Shadow (Anti-Crepuscular Rays) (Photo credit: Jason A. Samfield)

Over a year ago, I posted on my Facebook that I did not know what the will of my life was, I did not know where God was taking me, what I was supposed to do, I was basically lost. In this time of confusion and wonder, I really overly thought everything. I thought there might be something wrong with me since I wasn’t sure anything. The day before I wrote my note on Facebook, my Pastor said “What has God placed in your heart? If you are supposed to be a missionary, well then you can and will be one.” At the time I did not know what God placed in my heart, I was not sure of anything. I was looking in ALL the wrong places for my answer. My mom wrote (on this note) Maybe it is to be a great mother to Lily, A great friend, A wonderful person to work for and with. Look at the opportunity you have to speak to all the people who walk in th store. Maybe a kind word to someone may change that person, God gives us opportunities everyday. You do not have to have a specific title. You are a Blessing just by being you! Spread that around A snippet from what Mrs. Roberts said was The Lord lays it on your heart and you are compelled to obey.  If you don’t have that compulsion, your family, friends and neighbors are your mission field. My sister-in-law confirmed what everyone else told me, a piece of what she said was to be a mother to Lily first and invest in her character and moral/spiritual foundation, and that is my calling right now.

At the time I took everything everyone said to heart, I had 16 comments and all of them were from the heart, and I love and thank everyone who helped me then. Now that it has been over a year I can look back and go WOW have I grown in the Lord. I have grown SO much. I went from being a woman who was lost and confused, to being a woman who is confident that I am on God’s path for me. It is amazingly wonderful how our Heavenly Father works in us and how we are constantly growing in the Lord. It is wonderful how I can look back and say Everyone was right, I know that with confidence that Everyone was right. I can TRULY appreciate everyone’s comments now! With Lily my #1 mission at the moment I will do whatever it takes, educate myself, to make sure I instill the morals, values, spiritual foundation, and be a mom that she can look up to and say my mom is a Godly woman.

I believe the first step in getting over the confusion is to Look Up and seek God. In the book I’m reading (a place of healing), the author’s friend Dan, a race car driver, told her “that when a driver gets bumped and starts to spin he does not look at the wall. Their natural instincts tell them to, but their training tells them to keep their eyes on the track and steer out of that spin. You see, if they look at the wall, they’ll freeze. But if you look down the speedway and steer toward that open space, all your nerves are concentrated on that and not bracing for an impact.” That is what us humans do, we fix our eyes on the trials ahead, like I did when I was confused, and we allow ourselves to be fearful. We think I cannot do this, I won’t recover, I don’t know what to do, etc.. and we brace for an impact. Well we really  need to look up to God, and set our hearts on the things above. Look up and pray to God for wisdom, pray to God for strength, just pray. Lay it in his hands. It is amazing how your perspective on life changes when you SEEK GOD and His Wisdom! When you pray for the scales to be taken off your eyes, and your ears to be open so you can hear the Holy Spirit talking to you. When you open up your hearts to Him and let Him in FULLY and Completely. He WILL show you His will for your life, and He will bring you the peace you are longing for.

I can truly say that I am blessed to be at a Church where every service I take so much from it. I am truly blessed to have met some ladies along the way who have really helped me understand the word better. I am truly blessed to have wonderful family, friends, and my husband, who see me growing in my faith and tell me I’m doing a wonderful job. All of the books I have read and blogs I have read have really and truly shaped me into the person I am today and I’m truly thankful.

A pastor of mine said, when God shows you the next step you are to take, or shows you His will, or something you are supposed to do; do the next little step the best you can do. Do that little step and let that step bring all the Glory to God, and once you have mastered that step, then take another. I just love that and how that can be applied to anything. Whatever place you are in, remember to keep God first, Let the first song you sing, be praises to our God and King.

 

One thought on “Looking up through obstacles

Leave a Reply

