Love and Respect

This past Friday and Saturday, my church held the Love and Respect Conference with Dr. Eggerichs. I am super thankful that I was able to attend, thanks to my mom watching my little girl. It was a very eye-opening Conference, and I am sure it blessed many people who attended. It was an eye opener as to why a husband reacts the way he does, and why a wife reacts the way she does. Without Love she Reacts without Respect, and Without Respect he Reacts Without Love. It is a viscous cycle that if it is not put under control can end a marriage. Some college, can’t remember the name of it, did a study and came to the conclusion to have a successful marriage you need two things; LOVE AND RESPECT! It is clearly in the bible.

 Ephesians 5:25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her

Ephesians 5:33 Nevertheless, each individual among you also is to love his own wife even as himself, and the wife must see to it that she [r]respects her husband

I am truly blessed to have the husband I have, for numerous reasons but some of the ones I love are; Neither of us like to fight, and will talk through things rather than “fight. My husband is a guy who tries to see it from both perspectives, in turn he can see where I am coming from rather than getting mad. He is a communicator, he will sit and talk about feelings, what is bothering him, and in all actuality I am the one that does not like to talk about my feelings. I do not like to talk face to face about personal issues that are bothering me, I would rather bottle it up inside and ignore it, or write it all down on a piece of paper and let someone read it. So I am super blessed with a man who will work through all those emotions with me and doesn’t get mad when I say something wrong, because he understand how I think.

Back to the conference, Dr. Eggerichs pointed out that God has made up Man and Woman and we feel, see, react to things differently. A woman is naturally loving, gentle, nurturer, kind, will say I’m sorry for tripping over the dog. It is in our makeup that we put xoxoxox ❤ love you all over things! That is what makes up the loving women we are. God created men to want respect, to be man of honor, to naturally know how to respect another guy and naturally will die for his girlfriend or wife. Think about that, God designed your husband, boyfriend, son, to DIE for a women! Think about the Aurora, Colorado shooting and those 4 boyfriends who took the bullet for their girlfriends. That is just how God made them, they are Men of Honor!

Us woman, naturally want to feel loved, and we want our boyfriends or husbands to Love us, but they cannot Love us how we want UNLESS we show them RESPECT! See it is a big cycle. Try telling your husband, Honey I respect you, and walk away. See what happens, he, more than likely, will come walking after you going hey hey now how, intrigued. Make sure you have a couple of things to tell him as to why you respect him, like going to work, or being a good father or husband, etc. The more we can show respect to our Husbands, and try to show respect and think to ourselves, is what I am about to say Respectful or not, the more LOVE he will show you. It is a big circle!!!! I want my daughter to see her mom showing her dad respect and her dad showing her mom love. I want to have a healthy marriage that puts GOD FIRST, a marriage where Lily can look back and go that is the type of marriage I want to have.

So, that is what I learned at the Love and Respect Conference and I SO cannot wait to read the two books my Husband bought for me :). I would truly recommend any person to read his book Love an Respect, or attend a marriage conference if you can. Even if you do not have any marital problems it will help you to avoid them in the future.

Leave a Reply

